Skip to content
Guide

eSIM vs Local SIM in Sri Lanka

A local tourist SIM or eSIM from Dialog, SLT-Mobitel or Hutch costs about USD 2.50 to 9 for a week to a month of data, priced on the operators' own pages on 20 October 2026. An eSIM saves the SIM swap and keeps your home SIM in the phone; a physical SIM works in any unlocked phone.

The terminal building at Bandaranaike International Airport, with buses and service vehicles on the apron under a cloudy sky.

Should you get an eSIM or a local SIM in Sri Lanka?

Quick answer: Get a local tourist plan, and take it as an eSIM if your phone supports one. On 20 October 2026 the operators' own pages priced a week to a month of data at about USD 2.50 to 9. An eSIM lets you keep your home SIM in the phone for bank codes. A physical SIM is the fallback for phones with no eSIM.

This page compares the two ways to get the same local plan. If you are weighing a local plan against an international eSIM you buy before you fly, such as Airalo or Holafly, our Sri Lanka eSIM guide compares those.

What is the difference between an eSIM and a physical SIM?

eSIMPhysical SIM
What it isA SIM profile downloaded to a chip inside the phoneA plastic card you put in the SIM tray
Works inUnlocked phones that support eSIMAny unlocked phone with a SIM tray
Your home SIMCan stay in the phone and switched onComes out of the phone, unless it has two trays
SetupScan a QR code or let staff install itStaff fit the card
RiskYou cannot move it to another phone easilyA tiny card that is easy to lose
PriceSame plan prices as the physical SIM at each operatorSame plan prices

Dialog describes an eSIM as "a programmable chip built in to the device itself" that is set up over the internet with no card to insert (Dialog eSIM page). The plan prices below are the same whichever form you choose.

Is your phone ready for a tourist eSIM for Sri Lanka?

Before you rely on a tourist eSIM for Sri Lanka, run two checks at home:

  1. Dial *#06#. Dialog and Hutch both say that if the screen shows an EID number, your phone can take an eSIM (Hutch eSIM page).
  2. Check the phone is unlocked. Dialog warns that phones locked to one network by the maker or seller may not download its eSIM, even if the model supports it.

Dialog says its network works with any eSIM device that meets the GSMA's Remote SIM Provisioning Phase 2 standard. Hutch's page explains how to install its eSIM by scanning the operator QR code in your phone's mobile settings. If either check fails, buy a physical SIM, or use roaming from home.

How much do tourist SIM and eSIM plans cost?

These are the published tourist plans from all four operators, read on their own sites on 20 October 2026. USD figures use the CBSL rate above.

OperatorPlanDataCalls and extrasValid forPrice (LKR)About USD
SLT-MobitelPlan 0115 GBUnlimited local calls, 1,000 SMS7 daysRs 8212.51
SLT-MobitelPlan 0230 GBUnlimited local calls, 1,000 SMS30 daysRs 1,5404.71
SLT-MobitelPlan 0390 GB (3 GB a day)Unlimited local calls, 1,000 SMS, unlimited WhatsApp, Google Maps and Waze30 daysRs 2,9999.17
SLT-MobitelPlan 04UnlimitedUnlimited local calls, 1,000 SMS30 daysRs 5,13115.70
DialogTourist plan20 GBRs 174 of callsMonthlyRs 1,3994.28
DialogTourist plan30 GBRs 164 of callsMonthlyRs 1,7995.50
DialogTourist plan50 GBUnlimited WhatsApp, Rs 250 of callsMonthlyRs 2,4507.49
HutchInbound Tourist Pack50 GBUnlimited local calls and SMS, Rs 200 of international calls30 daysRs 1,9916.09
HutchInbound Tourist Pack125 GBUnlimited local calls and SMS, Rs 500 of international calls30 daysRs 2,9919.15
AirtelPay as you goRs 0.30 per MBCalls Rs 1.50 a minute, SMS Rs 1.50Not statedNo bundle publishedAbout 0.94 per GB

Sources: Dialog, SLT-Mobitel, Hutch SIM order site, Airtel, CBSL exchange rates.

Dialog and SLT-Mobitel say their prices include tax. Airtel says its rates are subject to government taxes. Hutch's order site also showed its own US dollar labels, USD 6 and USD 8, for the two packs. SLT-Mobitel sells top-ups if you run out: Rs 652 for 8.4 GB over 14 days, or Rs 1,343 for 20 GB over 30 days.

Which plan gives the most data for the money?

PlanPrice per GB
Hutch 125 GBRs 23.9
SLT-Mobitel 90 GBRs 33.3
Hutch 50 GBRs 39.8
Dialog 50 GBRs 49.0
SLT-Mobitel 30 GBRs 51.3
SLT-Mobitel 15 GBRs 54.7
Dialog 30 GBRs 60.0
Dialog 20 GBRs 70.0

These are our own sums from the prices above. Price per gigabyte is not the whole story. Coverage differs by area, so if you will spend time in a remote part of the island, ask your hotel which network works best there.

Where can you get each one?

OperatorPhysical tourist SIMTourist eSIM
DialogTwo airport stores right after the customs desk in the arrival lobby, or any of its 136 customer centresSame stores, or online through Dialog's new connection page
SLT-MobitelCounters in the arrival lobby at Bandaranaike, Mattala and Jaffna airports, and its outletsAsk at the arrival lobby counter or an outlet, or use its eSIM portal
HutchOrder through its official SIM order site, choosing the foreign traveller optionHutch lists eSIM on its eSIM page
AirtelCollect a form at the Airtel counter at Bandaranaike airport and hand it in with a passport copyNot stated

None of the operators published opening hours for the airport counters, so we do not give any. Airtel's page says Dialog Axiata PLC is the licensee of the Airtel brand in Sri Lanka. Our Colombo airport arrival guide shows where the arrival lobby sits after customs.

Which should you choose?

Your situationBest pick
eSIM phone, trip of a week or lessSLT-Mobitel Plan 01 as an eSIM
eSIM phone, two to four weeksSLT-Mobitel Plan 02, Dialog 20 GB or Hutch 50 GB, as an eSIM
You stream video or work onlineHutch 125 GB or SLT-Mobitel Plan 03
Phone has no eSIM, or you are not sureA physical SIM from the airport counter
You need texts from your bank at homeAn eSIM, so your home SIM stays in the phone
You want data before you reach a counterAn international eSIM bought at home, compared in our Sri Lanka eSIM guide

Tip: switch off data roaming on your home SIM as soon as the local plan works, so you do not pay your home operator's roaming rates by mistake.

How do you check and top up your data?

SLT-Mobitel says you dial *100# to see the data left on its plan. Dialog says you can activate its tourist plan by reloading the exact plan value, and its MyDialog app covers top-ups. If you run out, both sell top-ups at their outlets and online.

Sort out your ETA on the official site before you fly, then plan your data. With a working phone, ride apps and maps make getting around Sri Lanka much easier, and you can add the SIM to the trip cost guide budget.

Frequently asked questions

Is an eSIM or a local SIM better in Sri Lanka?

For most visitors a local plan is the cheaper choice, and you can take it as either an eSIM or a physical SIM. Pick the eSIM if your phone supports it and you want to keep your home SIM in the phone for bank codes. Pick the physical SIM if your phone has no eSIM or is locked to one network.

What is the cheapest tourist SIM in Sri Lanka?

On 20 October 2026, the cheapest published tourist plan was SLT-Mobitel's Rs 821 for 15 GB over 7 days, about USD 2.51. For a month, SLT-Mobitel's Rs 1,540 for 30 GB (about USD 4.71) was the cheapest. Hutch's Rs 2,991 for 125 GB was the lowest price per gigabyte we found.

How do I check if my phone supports eSIM?

Dial *#06#. Dialog and Hutch both say that if your phone shows an EID number, it can take an eSIM. Dialog adds that phones locked to one network by the maker or seller may not be able to download its eSIM profile.

Can I buy a tourist eSIM at Colombo airport?

Yes. Dialog says its two airport stores, right after the customs desk in the arrival lobby, activate tourist SIMs and tourist eSIMs. SLT-Mobitel says you can ask for an eSIM at its arrival lobby counter. Bring your passport.

Does Airtel sell a tourist SIM in Sri Lanka?

Airtel's page explains how to get a tourist SIM at the airport but does not publish a tourist bundle. It lists pay-as-you-go rates of Rs 0.30 per MB of data and Rs 1.50 a minute for calls, plus government taxes. Airtel's page says Dialog Axiata PLC holds the Airtel brand licence in Sri Lanka.

What documents do I need for a Sri Lanka tourist SIM?

Your passport. SLT-Mobitel says a foreign passport is the only document you need. Dialog checks your passport before activation. Airtel asks for its application form and a copy of your passport.

How much data do I need for two weeks in Sri Lanka?

It depends on how much video you watch. Over 14 days, a 20 GB plan gives you about 1.4 GB a day and a 30 GB plan about 2.1 GB a day. On 20 October 2026, Dialog's 20 GB plan cost Rs 1,399 and SLT-Mobitel's 30 GB plan Rs 1,540, both about USD 4 to 5. If you stream or work online, take a 90 GB or 125 GB plan.

Can I keep WhatsApp on my home number with a Sri Lankan SIM?

Yes. WhatsApp stays linked to the number you registered it with, even when a different SIM provides the data. With an eSIM in a dual-SIM phone, you can also leave your home SIM switched on for texts, such as bank codes.

Sources

Last verified 2026-10-20

All guides
A SriLankan Airlines Airbus A330 taxiing on a runway.
Practical

Flights from the USA to Sri Lanka

There are no nonstop flights from the United States to Sri Lanka. One-stop routes from New York connect through Doha, Abu Dhabi or Istanbul, with economy round trips seen from USD 1,057 on 19 October 2026. US citizens have been able to get a free 30-day ETA since 25 May 2026.

A passenger jet on the runway at Colombo's Bandaranaike International Airport at sunset.
Practical

Colombo airport arrival guide

What happens when you land at Colombo's Bandaranaike International Airport, step by step: ETA and arrival card, immigration, duty free, baggage, customs limits, money, SIM cards and the taxi counter. Checked on official airport, customs and Central Bank pages on 18 October 2026.