Hiriketiya and Mirissa guesthouses: dated prices
What small guesthouses in Hiriketiya and Mirissa charge, season by season, taken from seven guesthouses' own websites and labelled sampled 18 Oct 2026. Double rooms ran from about US$40 to US$120 a night, with breakfast at most.

How much do guesthouses in Hiriketiya and Mirissa cost?
Quick answer: On 18 October 2026, seven small guesthouses in Hiriketiya and Mirissa listed double rooms from about US$40 to US$120 a night on their own websites, mostly with breakfast. Prices roughly double between the May to October low season and the Christmas and New Year peak. In our sample, Hiriketiya's cheapest doubles started a little lower than Mirissa's.
This is a price check, not a ranking. Seven guesthouses cannot stand for a whole town, and rates change with demand. Use the tables to set a budget and to spot a price that looks wrong, then check your own dates.
What do Hiriketiya guesthouses charge?
From about US$40 to US$85 a night for a double, sampled 18 Oct 2026. Hiriketiya is a small surf bay at Dikwella on the south coast.
| Guesthouse (own site) | Room | Price per night (sampled 18 Oct 2026) | About in LKR | Breakfast | Distance to beach (their figure) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Villa Hiriketiya | Double room | US$40 (1 May to 31 Oct); US$55 (1 Nov to 14 Dec and 1 Feb to 30 Apr); US$85 (15 Dec to 31 Jan) | 13,100 / 18,000 / 27,800 | Not stated | 50 m |
| Villa Hiriketiya | Family room, sleeps up to 6 | US$60 / US$80 / US$120, same seasons | 19,600 / 26,100 / 39,200 | Not stated | 50 m |
| First Village Hiriketiya | Double or family room (8 rooms) | US$45, US$60 or US$80 by room | 14,700 / 19,600 / 26,100 | Included | Not stated |
| Devon Surf Inn | Single to family room (8 rooms) | Booking box: US$32 single, US$45 to US$70 double, US$90 family. Room list: US$45 to US$125 | See the warning below | Included | "1KM walk" |
| Villa Rosewood | Deluxe double | LKR 18,477 including taxes, for the site's default dates | 18,477 (about US$57) | Not stated | 7-minute walk |
Villa Hiriketiya also lists an extra bed at US$15 a night, an airport pickup at US$99 and a discount for stays of 30 nights or more.
What do Mirissa guesthouses charge?
From US$53 to about US$120 a night for a double with breakfast, sampled 18 Oct 2026. Mirissa is the bigger beach town, with the harbour where whale-watching boats leave. Whale season on the south coast is Nov to Apr.
| Guesthouse (own site) | Room | Price per night (sampled 18 Oct 2026) | About in LKR | Breakfast | Distance to beach (their figure) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lily Mirissa | Double (15 rooms) | US$55 (Oct 2026); US$65 (Nov); US$72 (1 to 23 Dec); US$105 (24 Dec to 10 Jan); US$90 (11 Jan to 30 Apr 2027); US$65 (May to Oct 2027) | 18,000 to 34,300 | Included | 500 m, a 7-minute walk |
| The Spice House Mirissa | Double, by room | Peak US$92 to US$120; medium US$70 to US$95; low US$60 to US$85 | 30,100 to 39,200 peak; 19,600 to 27,800 low | Included, taxes included | Not stated |
| Randon Resort | Double / triple | US$53 / US$61 | 17,300 / 19,900 | Included | 8-minute walk |
Spice House seasons, in its own words: peak is "August, November, December, January, February, March & April", medium is "July, September & October" and low is "May & June". Its single rate is US$78 peak, US$62 medium and US$48 low, and it adds US$15 a room a night from 16 December to 10 January.
Lily Mirissa supplements: a child aged 2 to 11 sharing the parents' bed is US$10 extra, a triple room US$20 extra, and single use US$5 less. The hotel says it is fully booked from 30 December 2026 to 1 January 2027.
How do prices change through the year?
The table lines up the seasons each place publishes. It shows the double-room rate for a stay in each month of the 2026/27 season, sampled 18 Oct 2026.
| Month of stay | Villa Hiriketiya | Lily Mirissa | The Spice House (cheapest double) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 2026 | US$40 | US$55 | US$70 |
| Nov 2026 | US$55 | US$65 | US$92 |
| Early Dec 2026 | US$55 | US$72 | US$92 |
| Christmas and New Year | US$85 | US$105 | US$92 + US$15 |
| Late Jan 2027 | US$85 | US$90 | US$92 |
| Feb to Apr 2027 | US$55 | US$90 | US$92 |
| May and Jun 2027 | US$40 | US$65 | US$60 |
| Jul to Sep 2027 | US$40 | US$65 | US$70 (Jul, Sep) or US$92 (Aug) |
Two patterns stand out. The Christmas and New Year fortnight is the most expensive everywhere. And The Spice House prices August as peak, unlike the other two, so check the exact month rather than assuming "summer is cheap".
What would 7 nights cost?
Worked examples for one double room, using the published rates sampled 18 Oct 2026. Taxes, extra beds and transfers are not included unless the guesthouse says so.
| Stay | Low-season week | Peak week | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Villa Hiriketiya, double | 7 x US$40 = US$280 (about LKR 91,500) | 7 x US$85 = US$595 (about LKR 194,400) | US$315 more |
| Lily Mirissa, double | 7 x US$55 = US$385 in Oct 2026 (about LKR 125,800) | 7 x US$105 = US$735 from 24 Dec (about LKR 240,100) | US$350 more |
| The Spice House, cheapest double | 7 x US$60 = US$420 in May or Jun | 7 x (US$92 + US$15) = US$749 at Christmas | US$329 more |
The cheaper weeks fall in the south coast's wetter months. On the 1991 to 2020 WMO normals, Galle averages 315.9 mm of rain in May and 344.5 mm in October, against 86.8 mm in January. Our Sri Lanka trip cost guide puts room costs alongside transport, food and tickets.
Why can one guesthouse show two prices?
On 18 October 2026, Devon Surf Inn's own home page showed two sets of prices. Its booking box listed a single room at US$32, standard doubles at US$45, garden-view doubles at US$55, a deluxe double at US$70 and a family room at US$90. Further down the same page, the room cards listed US$45, US$55 to US$65, US$69, US$75 and US$125 for the same room types.
We do not know which is current, and either could be a seasonal or promotional rate. So treat any price on a small hotel's site as a starting point. Before you pay:
- Ask for the total price for your exact dates in writing, by email or message.
- Ask whether the price is per room or per person, and whether it includes taxes and breakfast.
- Check the cancellation rule. The Spice House, for example, charges 50% for cancellations made 7 days before arrival and the full fee after that.
- Check the check-in and check-out times. The Spice House gives check-in at 2 pm and check-out at 11.30 am.
- Ask what a child or extra bed costs, using the supplements above as a guide.
Should you stay in Hiriketiya or Mirissa?
| Hiriketiya | Mirissa | |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest double in our sample | US$40 to US$45 | US$53 to US$60 |
| Peak double in our sample | US$85 | US$105 to US$120 |
| Choose it for | A small surf bay with lessons on the sand | A longer beach and the whale-watching harbour |
| Whale boats | Not a whale harbour | Boats leave from Mirissa Harbour, Nov to Apr |
Hiriketiya suits surfers and a slower pace; Mirissa suits a first beach stop and a whale trip. For quieter beaches between Galle and Mirissa, read Koggala and Weligama. To get there from the airport, see Colombo airport to Galle and Mirissa.
Frequently asked questions
How much is a guesthouse in Hiriketiya?
On 18 October 2026, the four Hiriketiya guesthouses we sampled on their own websites listed double rooms from about US$40 to US$85 a night. Villa Hiriketiya listed US$40 in its May to October season and US$85 from 15 December to 31 January. First Village listed US$45 to US$80 with breakfast.
How much is a guesthouse in Mirissa?
On 18 October 2026, the three Mirissa guesthouses we sampled listed doubles from US$53 to about US$120 a night with breakfast. Lily Mirissa listed US$55 for October 2026 and US$105 for 24 December to 10 January, and Randon Resort listed a double at US$53.
When are guesthouse prices cheapest in Mirissa and Hiriketiya?
In the south coast low season, about May to October. Villa Hiriketiya's standard season runs from 1 May to 31 October, The Spice House Mirissa calls May and June its low season, and Lily Mirissa's lowest rate applies in October 2026. This is also the wetter half of the year on the south coast.
How much more do rooms cost at Christmas and New Year?
Roughly double the low-season rate at some places. Villa Hiriketiya goes from US$40 to US$85 a night for 15 December to 31 January, and Lily Mirissa from US$55 to US$105 for 24 December to 10 January. The Spice House Mirissa adds US$15 a room a night from 16 December to 10 January.
Is breakfast included in Mirissa and Hiriketiya guesthouses?
At most of the places we sampled, yes. Lily Mirissa, The Spice House Mirissa, Randon Resort, First Village Hiriketiya and Devon Surf Inn all said breakfast is included. Villa Hiriketiya's price list did not mention breakfast, so ask before you book.
Is Hiriketiya cheaper than Mirissa?
In our small sample, slightly. The lowest Hiriketiya doubles started at US$40 to US$45 a night, against US$53 to US$60 for the cheapest Mirissa doubles. Seven guesthouses are not a market survey, so compare a few places for your own dates.
Should I book a guesthouse direct or through a booking site?
Several guesthouses push direct booking. Lily Mirissa says booking direct saves the commission and needs no advance payment, and Devon Surf Inn says no middlemen and no fees. Whatever you choose, get the total price, taxes and cancellation terms in writing.
Sources
Last verified 2026-10-18
- https://villahiriketiya.com/
- https://www.firstvillagehiriketiya.com/rooms
- https://devonsurfinn.com
- https://villarosewoodsl.com/
- https://lilymirissa.com/
- https://thespicehousemirissa.com/rates
- https://randonresort.com/
- https://whalewatching.navy.lk/index.php?id=3
- https://www.cbsl.gov.lk/en/rates-and-indicators/exchange-rates/daily-buy-and-sell-exchange-rates












